Call for Courage to Think Award Nominations

Posted December 14, 2017

We are no longer seeking nominations for the 2018 Scholars at Risk Courage to Think Award, which was presented at the Scholars at Risk Network 2018 Global Congress in Berlin on April 25, 2018.

The Courage to Think Award recognizes individuals, groups or institutions that have demonstrated exemplary commitment to protecting scholars and promoting academic freedom, whether through their professional work, private or community service, or by facing personal risk.

Past recipients

  • 2016: awarded in absentia, to the over 600 wrongfully imprisoned scholars and students in Egypt
  • 2014 awarded to Dean Habib Kazdaghli of Manouba University, Tunisia, for defending his university from extremist pressures after the Arab Spring, including in the face of prosecution and death threats
  • 2011 awarded to Aryeh Neier in recognition of his leadership during a career dedicated to promoting intellectual freedom and human rights

Nomination Guidelines:

  • Nominations may recognize individuals, groups or institutions
  • Nominations with the support of Scholars at Risk Sections will be given strongest consideration; however nominations may also be submitted by individuals or organizations
  • Incomplete nominations will not be considered.
In Categories: Update