Call for 2020 Courage to Think Award Nominations

Posted December 5, 2019

Scholars at Risk is seeking nominations for the 2020 Courage to Think Award, which will be presented during the Courage to Think Award Dinner at the SAR Network 2020 Global Congress in Baltimore on March 27, 2020.

The Courage to Think Award recognizes individuals, groups or institutions that have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to protecting scholars and promoting academic freedom, whether through their professional work, private or community service, or by facing personal risk. We are no longer seeking nominations at this time.

Nomination Guidelines:

  • Nominations may recognize individuals, groups or institutions
  • Nominations with the support of Scholars at Risk Sections will be given the strongest consideration; however, nominations may also be submitted by individuals or organizations
  • Incomplete nominations will not be considered.

Past recipients:

  • 2018: Awarded to Turkey’s Academics for Peace (Barış İçin Akademisyenler) for their extraordinary efforts in building academic solidarity and in promoting the principles of academic freedom, freedom of inquiry, and the peaceful exchange of ideas
  • 2016: Awarded in absentia, to the over 600 wrongfully imprisoned scholars and students in Egypt
  • 2014: Awarded to Dean Habib Kazdaghli of Manouba University, Tunisia, for defending his university from extremist pressures after the Arab Spring, including in the face of prosecution and death threats
  • 2011: Awarded to Aryeh Neier in recognition of his leadership during a career dedicated to promoting intellectual freedom and human rights


Submit a Nomination

In Categories: News