Board & Ambassadors Council

SAR Network Board

The Scholars at Risk Network Board is responsible for the overall policy and direction of the Network. Network members are invited to nominate representatives to the Board. The Board supervises the activities of the Network offices and staff and reports on these activities to the Network members and affiliates.

Catharine R. Stimpson (Chair)
University Professor & Dean Emeritus
The Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy
New York University

Lisa Anderson
Former President, American University in Cairo
Senior Lecturer and Dean Emerita, SIPA
Columbia University

Jonathan R. Cole
John Mitchell Mason Professor of the University
Provost and Dean of Faculties, Emeritus
Columbia University

Irving Epstein
Professor and Chair of Educational Studies
Director of the Center for Human Rights
Illinois Wesleyan University

Jonathan F. Fanton
American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Robert J. Jones
University of Illinois at Urbana – Champaign

Thomas Keenan
Director, Human Rights Project
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Bard College

Jan Krukowski
Jan Krukowski & Co.

Gara LaMarche
President, Democracy Alliance
Senior Fellow, NYU Wagner School of Public Service

David Levering Lewis
Julius Silver University Professor & Professor of History, Emeritus
New York University

Gilbert W. Merkx
Professor of the Practice of Sociology
Duke University

Matthew Nimetz
Advisory Director
General Atlantic

Judith Shapiro
President Emerita, The Teagle Foundation
President Emerita, Barnard College

Domna C. Stanton
Distinguished Professor
The Graduate Center, The City University of New York

John J. Studzinski
Vice Chairman, Investor Relations & Business Development
The Blackstone Group

Rosalie J. Wolf
Managing Partner
Botanica Capital Partners LLC

SAR Ambassadors Council

Ambassadors Council members are scholars, higher education and public leaders, advocates and others who advise the Board and staff and raise awareness of SAR’s work.

Lloyd Axworthy (Chair)
Chancellor of St. Paul’s University College
Former Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs
Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg

Anthony Appiah
Cultural theorist, philosopher and novelist
Professor of Philosophy, New York University
Former President, PEN American Center

Louise Arbour
Former justice of the Supreme Court of Canada
UN Commissioner for Human Rights

Ian Buruma
Writer and historian
Paul W. Williams Professor of Democracy, Human Rights, and Journalism at Bard College

Robbert Dijkgraaf
Mathematical physicist and string theorist
Director and Leon Levy Professor, the Institute for Advanced Study

Ariel Dorfman
Novelist, playwright, human rights activist
Professor of Literature and Latin American Studies, Duke University

Shirin Ebadi
Judge and human rights activist
Recipient of the 2003 Nobel Peace Prize

Richard Goldstone
Former justice of the South African Constitutional Court
Human rights leader

Azar Nafisi
Internationally bestselling author and professor
Executive Director of Cultural Conversations,
Foreign Policy Institute at SAIS at Johns Hopkins

Sigrid Rausing
Swedish philanthropist, anthropologist, publisher
Founder of Sigrid Rausing Trust and editor of Granta Magazine