Scholars at Risk Canada Section: Knowledge-exchange Session on How to Host a Scholar

Friday, Oct 01 2021 2:00 pm

Co-sponsors Canadian SAR member universities hoping to bring at-risk scholars to their campuses + Prospective SAR members
In Event Types: Meeting

WHAT: Scholars at Risk Canada Section: Knowledge-exchange Session on How to Host a Scholar

WHEN: Friday, October 1, 2021 at 10:00 PT / 11:00 MT / 12:00 CT / 13:00 ET / 14:00 AT / 14:30 NT

WHERE: Zoom (link below)

WHO: Canadian SAR member universities hoping to bring at-risk scholars to their campuses + Prospective SAR members

The SAR Canada section (SARCAN) invites you to attend a knowledge-exchange session where you can ask questions and share best practices about how to host a scholar at risk. The session will feature experts from three universities across the SARCAN network who have worked their magic to help bring scholars to their own institutions. They have dealt with immigration; housing; selection; contracts; human resources; and the thousands of other things our universities do to help scholars at risk feel at home during their time with us. We hope that this session will help to answer some of the “Uh oh! How do we tackle this?” questions that are coming up at your institution as you contemplate bringing at-risk scholars from Afghanistan and elsewhere.

The session will feature:
Jennifer Holburn – Faculty Recruitment Consultant, Office of Faculty Recruitment and Retention, Western University
Danielle Samuels – RCIC, Work Life and Relocation Manager, Faculty Staff Housing and Relocation Services, The University of British Columbia
Sharon Webb – Administrative Coordinator, Centre for Human Rights & Legal Pluralism, McGill University

The session will be hosted by two members of the SAR Canada section national steering committee, Natasha Nobell (UBC) and Joanna Quinn (Western), and will include participants from Canadian SAR member and prospective member institutions.

Please confirm your attendance here: https://ubc.ca1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_9otBVUX8r1zkw1E

ZOOM LINK: https://westernuniversity.zoom.us/j/93506499715
passcode: sarcanada